The Kitra Saga

Kitra — The Kitra Saga #1

By Gideon Marcus

Stranded in space: no fuel, no way home… and no one coming to help.

From the pen of Hugo Finalist Gideon Marcus comes the found-family, YA Space Adventure you’ve been waiting for:

Nineteen-year-old Kitra Yilmaz dreams of traveling the galaxy like her Ambassador mother. But soaring in her glider is the closest she can get to touching the stars — until she stakes her inheritance on a salvage Navy spaceship.

On its shakedown cruise, Kitra’s ship plunges into hyperspace, stranding Kitra and her crew light years away. Tensions rise between Kitra and her shipmates: the handsome programmer, Fareedh; Marta, biologist and Kitra’s ex-girlfriend; Peter, the panicking engineer; and the oddball alien navigator, Pinky.

Now, running low on air and food, it’ll take all of them working together to get back home.

With illustrations by Hugo Finalist Lorelei Esther.

ISBN: 978-1-951320-02-7

Categories: All Ages, Science Fiction

Physical & Digital Editions also available at the following retailers:

Sirena — The Kitra Saga #2

By Gideon Marcus

One starship, six friends, 10,000 lives in the balance.

Hugo Award Finalist Gideon Marcus has done it again with this second installment in The Kitra Saga. Sirena is a thrilling YA space adventure, unusually hopeful and optimistic in a sea of grimdark, dystopian releases. Enhanced with beautiful illustrations, fans of Becky Chambers’ Wayfarers and Emily Skrutskie’s Bonds of Brass will adore Sirena.

Young captain-for-hire Kitra Yilmaz has gotten her first contract: escort the mysterious Princess of Atlántida beyond the Frontier and find her a new world. It’s a risky job, fraught with the threat of pirates, dangerous squatters, and rising romantic tensions.

Still, Kitra and her crew are up for anything – until they find a lush world, perfect for settlement…with an enormous ghost ship already in orbit.

What secret does the crippled vessel hide? And is Kitra ready to take responsibility for its precious cargo?

With illustrations by Hugo Finalist Lorelei Esther.

ISBN: 978-1-951320-02-7

Categories: All Ages, Science Fiction

Physical & Digital Editions also available at the following retailers:

Hyvilma — The Kitra Saga #3

By Gideon Marcus

A damaged ship, a dying shipmate–can she save both?

Under attack! The flight back to Hyvilma should have been the easy part for the crew of the Majera–until a deadly ambush by pirates sends them reeling through hyperspace. Now getting to the planet in time is the only way Captain Kitra Yilmaz can save her dying friend.

But landing at Hyvilma may be impossible: war has broken out on the Frontier.

With illustrations by Hugo Finalist Lorelei Esther.

COMING FEBRUARY 28, 2023!

ISBN: 978-1-951320-02-7

Categories: All Ages, Science Fiction

Physical & Digital Editions will also be available at the following retailers:

Gideon Marcus

Gideon Marcus is a professional space historian and award-winning science fiction author. Editor of the Rediscovery: Science Fiction by Women series and the author of The Kitra Saga, his science fiction short stories can be found in Dark Matter, Utopia, and Simultaneous Times.

Praise for The Kitra Saga

Buzzfeed

While [Kitra] is fraught with danger it stays good-humored and is ultimately about friendship. In these days of strife, it was refreshing to read such a positive and amusing story.

Read the full review

Nerds of a Feather

Kitra is a story of perseverance in the face of fear and uncertainty, and that we only get through times like these by helping each other. Uplifting and positive, this novel speaks to all ages.

Read the full review

Mystical Authoress

“If you’re looking for a book focused on friendship, trust, and travelling in space, this is the book for you!”

Read the full review

Inquisitive Newt

Kitra by Gideon Marcus is the book I wish that I’d read as a teenager.”

Read the full review

Rachelanne Reviews

Sirena is a cross-universe novel, full of high stakes, found family and fantastic puns. It’s perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and anyone wanting a quick read that’s packed full of character and adventure.”

Read the full review

The Review Curmudgeon

[Sirena] is a well-paced, varied, exciting, well-executed YA space opera featuring principled, courageous and capable protagonists.

Recommended.

Read the full review